Tag Archives: Annual General Meeting

NOTICE of 2013 AGM

 All member societies are warmly invited to attend the 2013 Annual General Meeting of the Federation, which will be held at the Australian National University on Saturday 31 August 2013. The meeting will start at 12.30pm.

The AGM is completely open to ideas, so if you have any suggestions on how the federation can improve things for you and other members, please let us know so they can be put on the agenda.

The business of the meeting will be to receive reports of the Federation’s activities during the past year, to conduct elections of office bearers and other Executive members, and to consider any matters of which due notice has been given. This is also a call for nominations of candidates for election, which may be made in writing and received by the secretary before Tuesday 13 August. Candidates can also be nominated from the floor of the meeting.

Each member society is entitled to be represented at the AGM by two delegates who are members of the society they represent. If you can’t send delegates you can appoint a proxy who will vote on your behalf. A proxy doesn’t have to be a member of your society. To appoint a proxy you need to complete the Proxy form and mail or scan/email it to reach the secretary by Tuesday 27 August.

Big changes at special general meeting

The special general meeting held in Canberra on 15 December was something of a milestone. Several major decisions were made put the Federation in a strong position to meet the challenges of the future.

Major decisions made at the meeting were:

1. Changes to the constitution. If you would like a copy of the new constitution, just contact us (contact details at the end of this issue). The constitution also makes great bedtime reading. If you have trouble getting to sleep, start reading and you’ll be snoring by page 3.

2. Our name (as you will have already noticed at the top of the page) is now Australian Film Societies Federation Inc. After an exhaustive debate and voting process, this name emerged as the people’s choice. It might sound a bit strange at first, but by this time next year it will be part of the furniture.

3. Election of the Executive. The Executive comprises seven members, and the following were elected:

President: James Sandry; Vice president: Richard Keys; Secretary: Michael Lines-Kelly: Treasurer: Megan Finlayson; Other officers: Brian Dunne, Bryan Putt and Hilton Prideaux.

But the best thing about the meeting was that everyone there was more interested in talking about film than constitutions and legal rigmarole. Before and after the business sessions, little groups gathered to discuss what they were programming; who distributes what; comparisons of different digital formats, and so on.